SHAH ALAM - The Malaysian national cycling team was praised for their performance throughout the Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) 2023 that ended on Saturday.

However, questions arose about whether all six of the national racers would remain as a team or go their separate ways.

Chief coach Mohd Yusof Nasir himself could not decide the future of the men but hoped they would remain "united" for LTdL 2024.

"If we can gather (cyclists) within two to three months and achieve such good results, maybe if we can gather them for a year, the results would be better," he said.

For LTdL 2023, Malaysia had bet on four former Sapura Cycling (TSC) cyclists Muhsin Al Redha Misbah, Muhammad Nur Aiman Rosli, Muhammad Shaiful Adlan Shukri, and Zawawi Azman as the team captain.

The presence of Mohamad Izzat Hilmi Abdul Halil, who also previously wore the TSC jersey, and up-and-coming youth cyclist Zulhelmi Zainal added to the national team's strength.

Mohd Yusof said he was prepared for all possibilities if his men were approached by other professional teams who were interested in their services.

"If there were professional teams who wanted to sign them, they should go. It's far better than working towards something that isn't assured.

"As long as it extended their careers and helped them to continue improving their performance, I have no issues," he said.

Throughout the eight stages of LTdL 2023, the Malaysian line-up showed that they were capable of competing with the WorldTeam and ProTeam teams, giving them a positive aura.

2023-10-02T05:24:24Z dg43tfdfdgfd